F1 - Noticias

F1 | Hamilton and Mercedes among nominees for Laureus World Sports Awards

After yet another sensational season in F1, that saw them win both Drivers and Constructors Championships, Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes have been nominated for the 2021 edition of the Laureus World Sports Awards.

( palabras)
F1 | Hamilton and Mercedes among nominees for Laureus World Sports Awards
Fuente imagen: MercedesAMGF1 Twitter

Among the nominees for the 2021 Laureus World Sports Awards revealed earlier today are Lewis Hamilton and his team Mercedes AMG-Petronas.

“It’s an honour to have been nominated for Laureus World Sportsman of the Year alongside some truly incredible athletes,” he commented.

Hamilton also concentrated on the tough year that just ended:

“When I look back at the award ceremony last year, it’s hard to believe just how much has changed. 2020 was a difficult year for so many people, for many different reasons and of course the world of sport was hugely affected."

“I was fortunate enough to be able to race and I’m so proud of what we, as a team, were able to achieve together."

"I’m even prouder of the journey we began towards making the motorsport industry more diverse and inclusive."

The award celebrates "the achievements of sportsmen and women and their impact on society." 

And the seven-time World Champion has certainly been playing his part by advocating for climate change and racial equality.

“Nelson Mandela was the inspiration behind Laureus and I’m sure he would support everything we can do to use sport to achieve a greater good.”

Last year he shared the victory with Lionel Messi and now he is competing all over again for World Sportsman of the Year

Other nominees include NBA sensation LeBron James, Bayern Munich star Robert Lewandowski and Rafael Nadal, who won his 20th Grand Slam equalling Roger Federer.

Mercedes will also have to face some quite strong competitors in order to win the Laureus World Team of the Year Award for the second time, after their first success in 2018.

From NBA champions LA Lakers, Champions League winners Bayern Munich and Superbowl winners Kansas City Chiefs to Argentina’s Men’s Rugby Team and Liverpool FC, who won their first Premier League title after a 30-year wait. 

Voting will open soon at Laureus.com and winners will be announced during a virtual event in early May.

Artículos relacionados


Subscribite ahora a nuestra lista de noticias diarias y te avisemos cada vez que una nota nueva salga.