F1 - Noticias

F1 | Mexico GP | Russell leads Tsunoda and Ocon in FP2, Leclerc heavily crashes his Ferrari

In a session dominated by 2023 prototype tyre running, Mercedes driver George Russell was quickest. Charles Leclerc had a big smash in turn 7.

( palabras)
F1 | Mexico GP | Russell leads Tsunoda and Ocon in FP2, Leclerc heavily crashes his Ferrari
Fuente imagen: Mercedes AMG F1 Team

For the second consecutive weekend, the Pirelli tyre test dominated FP2. All teams get prescribed to a certain fuel load and given unmarked tyres to run around on.

Only Yuki Tsunoda, Esteban Ocon, Kevin Magnussen, Alex Albon and George Russell could run on 2022 tyres as they missed FP1 for rookie runners.

Five minutes into the session saw Pierre Gasly’s 1:22.186 put him ahead of the Red Bulls of Verstappen and Perez on the prototype tyres.

Russell went P5 and Ocon P7 with both on the 2022 medium tyres.

Once again, Carlos Sainz put in a strong lap to be the first into the 1:21s. His 1:21.943 put him 0.243s clear.

Russell then hooked up a lap as he posted a 1:21.742 to go quickest. Tsunoda moved up into P8 on a 1:22.371 using the 2022 medium tyres as well.

The Red Bulls moved to the front as home hero Sergio Perez pumped in a 1:21.579, 0.009s quicker than Verstappen.

Bolting on the softs, George Russell hammered in a 1:19.970 to briefly go fastest by over 1.6s.

Yuki Tsunoda then moved into 2nd, 0.828s adrift. Alpine’s Esteban Ocon went into P3, 1.207s off the Mercedes. They were also using the 2022 soft compound.

Alex Albon popped into P13. The other driver who could have run this year’s tyres was Kevin Magnussen, but he didn’t appear until the second half of the session and had to go to the 2023 prototype tyre.

It was a bad day for Haas overall as the Dane was hit with a 5-place grid penalty for another new ICE following Fittipaldi’s problem in FP1.

A red flag was required just over 30 minutes into the session as Charles Leclerc lost the rear of the car into turn 7 and hit the barrier. The rear of his car was heavily damaged, and his FP2 was done.

Russell led Tsunoda, Ocon, Hamilton, Perez, Verstappen, Leclerc, Sainz, Bottas and Gasly was the top 10 as the session resumed following a near 20-minute stoppage.

The top 10 remained the same until the chequered flag as everyone pumped in laps on the 2023 prototype tyres.

Alonso, Vettel, Albon, Norris, Ricciardo, Stroll, Schumacher, Magnussen, Latifi and Guanyu filled the second half of the timesheets.

Right at the end of FP2, Zhou Guanyu stopped in the final sector as more unreliability problems struck the Chinese driver.

Artículos relacionados


Subscribite ahora a nuestra lista de noticias diarias y te avisemos cada vez que una nota nueva salga.