F1 - Noticias

Mexican Grand Prix – Warm Up

Everything you need to know about tyres, penalties and the final starting grid for the nineteenth Grand Prix of the season.

( palabras)
Mexican Grand Prix – Warm Up
Fuente imagen: f1.com

Unlike almost all qualifying sessions of the season, the first row of the grid is now occupied not even by Ferrari, but by the drivers from the Red Bull team: Daniel Riccciardo managed to claim the pole by 0.026s from his teammate Max Verstappen.

Hamilton qualified 3rd, Vettel 4th, two Finns – Bottas and Raikkonen – will start the race 5th and 6th respectively.

All the above mentioned drivers showed their best lap times in Q2 on Ultrasoft tyres, as the other part of the top-10 (two Renaults and two Saubers) did the same on Hypersoft.

Pirelli has brought three types of compounds for the Mexican Grand Prix –  pink Hypersoft, purple Ultrasoft and red Supersoft. Here's which compounds every driver still has available for the race.

Available tyres


Pirelli has also revealed the quickest strategy for the race:

“Fastest strategy is a two-stopper. Either: one stint on ultrasoft for 9 laps then two 31-lap stints on supersoft. Or: one stint on hypersoft for 5 laps then two 33-lap stints on supersoft.

The second-quickest strategy is a one-stopper, although this needs plenty of tyre management. One stint on ultrasoft for 15-18 laps, then supersoft to the flag.”

As for the power unit changes and penalties ahead of the Grand Prix, let’s overview the below small list.

  • Pierre Gasly – new internal combustion engine (ICE), turbocharger (TC), motor generator unit-neat(MGU-H) and gearbox
  • Kimi Raikkonen, Sergio Perez, Carlos Sainz, Fernando Alonso, Max Verstappen will also use new gearboxes.

Gasly received a 15 places grid penalty for engine changes and additionally 5 places for the gearbox.

And lastly, take a look at the starting grid for the Mexican Grand Prix (Note that Romain Grosjean was given 3 place grid penalty for causing a collision during United States Grand Prix last week):

1st row

1° – Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull – 1.14.759s

2°  – Max Verstappen, Red Bull – 1.14.785s

2nd row

3° – Lewis Hamilton,  Mercedes – 1.14.894s

4°  – Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari  – 1.14.970s

3rd row

5° –  Valtteri Bottas, Mercedes – 1.15.160s

6°  – Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari – 1.15.330s

4th row

7° – Nico Hulkenberg, Renault – 1.15.827s

8° – Carlos Sainz, Renault – 1.16.084s

5th row

9° – Charles Leclerc, Sauber – 1.16.189s

10°–  Marcus Ericsson, Sauber – 1.16.513s

6th row

11° – Esteban Ocon, Racing Point Force India – 1.16.844s

12°  – Fernando Alonso, McLaren – 1.16.871s

7th row

13° – Sergio Perez, Racing Point Force India – 1.17.167s

14°  – Brendon Hartley, Toro Rosso – 1.17.184s

8th row

15°  – Stoffel Vandoorne, McLaren – 1.16.966s

16°  – Kevin Magnussen, Haas –

9th row

17°  – Lance Stroll, Williams – 1.17.689s

18° – Romain Grosjean, Haas – 1.16.911s – 3 place grid penalty

10th row

19°  – Sergey Sirotkin , Williams – 1.17.886s

20°  – Pierre Gasly, Toro Rosso – no time – 15 place + 5 place grid penalty

Artículos relacionados


Subscribite ahora a nuestra lista de noticias diarias y te avisemos cada vez que una nota nueva salga.