Power delivers Penske’s 200th win

Will Power had a perfect day after starting on pole and delivering Roger Penske his 200th win in IndyCar since 1972.

( palabras)
Power delivers Penske’s 200th win
Fuente imagen: Will Power

  For the past five years the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course has been the race that kicks off the greatest month in Motorsports. A month long celebration of tradition and future, known as the Indianapolis 500. 

   One story people would follow is the return to IndyCar for Helio Castroneves. The race would be his first in a IndyCar since September. Helio used this race as a warmup for his final attemp to capture his fourth Indy 500 win in this year's 500. 

  The race started on lap 1 in turn 2 with Jordan King nipping the back of Simon Pagenaud sending them both spinning in the gravel. On that same lap near turns 5 and 6 Spencer Pigot would run over the turn curbbing sending him flying through the air off all 4 wheels looking like a scene out of Dukes of Hazzard. He would spin out as he landed and would receive a penalty for avoidable contact with Takuma Sato. 

  A restart on lap 5 would see Will Power lead up until the first round of green flag pit stops after power would take on harder black compound Firestone tires. And second place runner Robert Wickens would take on the softer red Firestone tires. In result of this Wickens would pass Power for the lead on lap 23. 

  Wickens would lead up until lap 42 when he would come in for another pit stop. Graham Rahal would stay out on track until he would pit on lap 46  

  Power and Wickens would duel for the lead with Power on red Firestone’s this time would take the lead from Wickens who was on black Firestones. 

  Around lap 59 while racing Sebastien Bourdais, Josef Newgarden would race a little to aggressive and hop the curb in turn 12 spinning himself out and bringing out another caution. 

  During the yellow flag pit stops Scott Dixon would make considerable ground by moving up to 3rd after starting 18th. 

  The green flag would fly again and after making up all that ground Dixon would pass Wickens for 2nd place giving him a shot at passing Power. 

  It would not be enough as Will Power would be able to hold off Dixon and capture his 2nd win in a row on the Indy road course and his 31st career win. 

  The win would also be Team Penske’s historical 200th IndyCar win with the teams first win dating back to the 1972 Indy 500 with driver Mark Donohue winning.

  Be sure to stay tuned all month with updates on all events going on in the Indy 500 this month and be sure to catch the 102nd running of the Indy 500 may 27th. 

Artículos relacionados


Subscribite ahora a nuestra lista de noticias diarias y te avisemos cada vez que una nota nueva salga.