Will Power victorious at the Indy 500

All the thrills and spills from the 102nd running of the 102nd Indianapolis 500.

( palabras)
Will Power victorious at the Indy 500
Fuente imagen: Will Power facebook

 This is it, the day that IndyCar fans and race fans in general have been waiting 365 days for, race day in Indianapolis.

 Local Indianapolis native Ed Carpenter would lead the thirty three car field to the green and check out right from the get go.

 The race would go green for 48 laps until Australian James Davison appeared to have some mechanical failure and was lapping the 2.5 mile oval significantly slower than the rest field when Takuma Sato would make contact in turn 3 destroying the right rear suspension on Sato's Honda and Davison's car spinning. Both would be the first cars out of the running.

 Zach Clamen De Melo would cycle to the front after the leaders would come in for fuel and fresh tires. Carpenter overtaking Clamen De Melo for the lead once again would take less than a lap.

 The new lower down force body kits would be hot topic on how they would race in traffic and on the hot slippery asphault. It would claim its first victim on lap 58 when Ed Jones would get loose and hit the outside wall with the left side ending his day early after an impressive 3rd place finish one year ago in his Indy 500 debute.

 On the restart Tony Kanaan would take the lead from Ed Carpenter and lead one lap when Ed Carpenter would take back the lead at the conclusion of that lap. While that was going on, in her final Indy 500 Danica Patrick would have an almost identical accident to that of Ed Jones, spinning out making contact with the wall on the left side of her Go Daddy Chevrolet, despite qualifying seventh her, final Indy 500 would come to an before the checkers.

 The next restart Kanaan would take the lead away again from Carpenter, but a tire puncture would force him to suspend the lead and come to pit road.

 During green flag pit stops, rookie Zach Veach would come in for fuel when a decent size fire would break out on the entire side of his Andretti Autosport honda. He would go back out with the fire still burning and the wind would tame the flames.

 Lap 139 would see Frenchman Sebastien Bourdais suffering from low down force when he would spin between turns 3 and 4 sending him into the wall ending his day after qualifying 5th. Seven laps later Helio Castorneves one of the most watched drivers throughout the month would lose control and do a full 180 into the inside wall ending his chance at 4 Indy 500's once again. With 45 laps the number 24 Chevrolet of Sage Karam would get side ways and make turn 4 exit wall sending his right rear flying and giving Sage Karam a DNF for his third Indy 500 in a row.

 The caution with Sage Karam would bring in some takers like Oriol Servia, Stefan Servia and Jack Harvey. They would be threat towards Will Power.

 The trio would catch a break with a caution as Tony Kanaan would spin coming out of turn as many drivers throughout the day would do.

 The leaders would come down pit road which would send Servia, Wilson and Harvey to the front hoping to be an upset.

  With 8 laps to go the green flag flew and Stefan Wilson would go around Servia before entering turn 1. After sitting out one year ago to make room for Fernando Alonso, Stefan was making the best of his oppurtunity.

 While Harvey and Wilson were out front Will Power was not one to give up passing Servia for 3rd. With 4 laps to go Harvey and Wilson would not able to go the distance on fuel and would come in for a splash suspending the lead to Power.

 Will Power would be able to hold on the last 4 laps capturing the race that he had some how not been able to win previously.

 Will Power won the 102nd running of the Indianapolis 500!

 After qualifying on pole Ed Carpenter was able to bring his number 20 chevrolet home in second.

 Alexander Rossi had a horrible weekend of qualifying by falling all the way back to 32nd. None of that mattered as he was able to charge his way throught the field throughout the day ending the day in 4th place.

 Here are the results

1. Will Power

2. Ed Carpenter

3. Scott Dixon

4. Alexander Rossi

5. Ryan Hunter-Reay

6. Simon Pagenaud

7. Carlos Munoz

8. Josef Newgarden

9. Robert Wickens

10. Graham Rahal

11. JR Hildebradnd

12. Marco Andretti

13. Matheus Leist

14. Gabby Chaves

15. Stefan Wilson

16. Jack Harvey

17. Oriol Servia

18. Charlie Kimball

19. Zach Clamen De Melo

20. Spencer Pigot

21. Conor Daly

22. Max Chilton

23. Zach Veach

24. Jay Howard

25. Tony Kanaan

26. Saga Karam

27. Helio Castroneves

28. Sebastien Bourdais

29. Kyle Kaiser

30. Danica Patrick

31. Ed Jones

32. Takuma Sato

33. James Davison

 Be sure to keep it here on MotorLat for all your IndyCar news and features. Also catch the Chevrolet Indy duel in Detroit on June 3rd and 4th on ABC channel 7.

Artículos relacionados


Subscribite ahora a nuestra lista de noticias diarias y te avisemos cada vez que una nota nueva salga.