IndyCar | Hinchcliffe finds heaven in the Field of Dreams

James Hinchcliffe redeemed his season by beating Team Penske and Josef Newgarden on the 7/8s mile oval in Iowa.

( palabras)
IndyCar | Hinchcliffe finds heaven in the Field of Dreams
Fuente imagen: @Honda on Twitter

 James Hinchcliffe did not have a win coming into the Iowa Corn 300 at Iowa Speedway. Even worse, him being a well funded top driver failed to qualify for this years Indianapolis 500, on top of that he had lost some of the leadership and glam to his rookie team mate Robert Wickens due to Wickens having a very impressive season by a rookie almost never seen since the early 90s with Nigel Mansell

 After qualifying on Saturday in Iowa it was looking once again like it would be a battle of the Penske’s with Will Power taking pole and Josef Newgarden starting right beside in 2nd. Hinchliffe qualified 11th. 

 Right from the start of race Will Power would lead the first 23 laps until Newgarden would think otherwise and take the lead away from Power. From then on, Newgarden was the man to beat pretty much all day being so fast he would lap the field all the up to the top 5. Until lap 255. 

 James Hinchcliffe had made his way through the field from 11th to 2nd throughout the day and with just 45 laps to go would be able to get around Newgarden for the race lead. 

 With about 7 laps to go Ed Carpenter and Takuma Sato would tangle causing a debris caution and virtually ending the race under yellow. James Hinchcliffe would still be leading when the caution would fly and he would take the win in the Field of Dreams. 

 Spencer Pigot would also make his way through the field from 18th starting position to 2nd by the checkard flew, earning him his first ever career podium in his first start at Iowa. 

  James Hinchcliffe will have a very positive roll going forward into the next race in Toronto which happens to be his home race. 

 Iowa Corn 300 Results:

1. James Hinchcliffe 

2. Spencer Pigot 

3. Takuma Sato 

4. Josef Newgarden 

5. Robert Wickens 

6. Will Power 

7. Graham Rahal

8. Simon Pagenaud 

9. Alexander Rossi 

10. Ed Carpenter 

11. Sebastien Bourdais 

12. Scott Dixon 

13. Ed Jones 

14. Charlie Kimball 

15. Max Chilton 

16. Marco Andretti 

17. Tony Kanaan 

18. Zachary Claman Demelo 

19. Ryan Hunter-Reay

20. Zach Veach 

21. Gabby Chaves 

22. Matheus Leist 

 Be sure to catch the Honda Indy Toronto on the streets of Toronto, Ontario Canada on July 15th on NBCSN and check here on MotorLat for IndyCar features and other racing features. 

Artículos relacionados


Subscribite ahora a nuestra lista de noticias diarias y te avisemos cada vez que una nota nueva salga.