IndyCar | Will Power finds success in the Gateway to the west

Will Power is showing why he is not one to be counted out in the IndyCar championship.

( palabras)
IndyCar | Will Power finds success in the Gateway to the west
Fuente imagen: @IndyCar on twitter

Will Power has not won a championship in 4 years, obviously every race car driver would like to chnage that stat, he was beaten by Scott Dixon in 2015 and by his Penske team mates Simon Pagenaud and Josef Newgarden in 2016 and 2017, but Power is putting together a real solid effort to change that stat.
 At the start of Saturdays Bommarito Auto Group 500 at Gateway Motorsports Park, It was looking like Scott Dixon was going to be stretching his point even more over Alexander Rossi and Will Power by leading starting on pole due to qualifying being cancelled Dixon would start on pole since the starting order was based on point stadings. Dixon would lead 145 laps and was looking to capture another win on his all time win list. 

But we all know how much of a fan of ovals Will Power is these days, that used to not be the case as he was one of those IndyCar oval haters especially coming from champ car previously. But over the past few seasons Power has grown to like ovals just as much if not better than road or street course's as the Gateway win is his seventh oval dating back to 2013. Penske always has flawless pit stops and almost spot on pit strategy. Power came in on lap 230 for a splash of fuel after leading since lap 150 when he passed Scott Dixon for the lead. Dixon and the rest of the drivers made their final stops and Power took back the lead. 
From then on Will Power cruised to his third win of the season tying Rossi and Dixon for season wins and moving third in points passing Josef Newgarden in the standings. Power also tied 3 time Indy 500 winner Bobby Unser on the all time win list with 35 career wins. 
Next IndyCar is heading to a venue that has not seen open wheel racing in almost 10 years, The Portland International Raceway. Champ Car was the last open wheel series to run in Portland, Oregon with Will Power having driven that year and the year after. Dixon ran there in the early days of his career in CART with Pac West Racing. Dale Coyne Racing driver Sebastien Bourdais was the last to win at Portland in 2007 before Champ Car merged with IndyCar. 

 The Grand Prix of Portland is the next race on the scheduled on Aug 30- Sep 2nd and will be the final race before the championship round in Sonoma, California. Will it be Dixon, Rossi, Power or someone else who gets it done Portland? catch it and see on NBCSN and be sure to check out more motorsport features here on MotorLat.

Artículos relacionados


Subscribite ahora a nuestra lista de noticias diarias y te avisemos cada vez que una nota nueva salga.